WebMail: Messages

The CommuniGate Pro WebUser Interface allows you to read messages stored in your account mailbox(es). To read ("open") a message, open the Mailbox page first and click on the message link.

Message Browsing

The WebUser Interface allows you to view messages in your mailboxes. It checks the MIME structure of a message and decodes its MIME parts.

A mailbox message is displayed as an HTML page, containing the important fields of the message header, the decoded message body, and the controls. Text, HTML, and graphics MIME parts are displayed, other parts (attachments) are shown as icon links that allow you to download these parts.

The multipart-messages are displayed according to the MIME multipart rules, and the nested messages (forwarded messages, reports, digests) are displayed, too.

The message header (and message headers of all embedded messages) has icon-links that allow you to view the complete header information, and to view the undecoded message body.

You can use the following controls (links/buttons) on Message pages:

Next Unread
Click this control to open the next unread message (a messages without the read marker) in the mailbox.
Back to mailboxname
Click this control to close the message and to open the mailbox page.
Close as Unread
Click this control to mark this message as unread (removes the read marker), to close the message page, and to open the mailbox page.
Delete
Click this control to mark this message as deleted (sets the deleted marker), to close the message, and to open the mailbox page.
Undelete
Click this control to remove the deleted marker from the message.
Reply
Click this control to open the Compose page and to send a reply message.
Reply To All
Click this control to open the Compose page and to send a reply message. The pre-composed recipients list will include not only the author of the original message, but all message Cc: and To: recipients, too.
Forward
Click this control to open the Compose page and to forward a message.
Set Flag
Click this control to add the flag marker to the message.
Reset Flag
Click this control to remove the flag marker from the message.
Redirect
Click this control to redirect the message to the specified address(es). If you need to type in several addresses, separate them with the comma sign.
Edit Draft
This control appears only for draft messages; click this control to open the message in the Compose page, so you can complete it and send it to its recipients.

You can open the Settings page and specify how messages should be displayed:

Show HTML
This option specifies how the WebUser Interface should process messages in the HTML format:
in frame
In this mode the HTML portions of messages are displayed in an embedded frame, providing complete separation of the message HTML code from the WebUser Interface Message page code. If you use a browser that does not support embeded frames, you will have to click a special link to open the HTML portion of the message in a separate window.
inline
In this mode the HTML portions of messages are inserted into the WebUser Interface Message page code. The WebUser Interface checks the message HTML portion code and removes some tags that may distort the entire WebUser Message page.
disabled
In this mode the plain text messages portions are displayed instead of the HTML portions. If only an HTML portion exists, it is displayed as a plain Text, after all HTML tags are removed from it.
Show Links
This option specifies how the WebUser Interface should display links in HTML and plain-text messages:
directly
In this mode links are displayed "as is". If the WebUser protection methods (Fixed IP Address, Cookies) are disabled, attackers can receive your WebUser Session ID string when you follow links they have sent to you, and you open a page on the attackers' Web site.
safely
In this mode displayed links are modified, so the referenced Web sites do not receive the "referrer" information containing your WebUser Session ID. If your browser does not send the "Referer" field or your firewall remove these fields from your requests, this option will not work, and you should select the directly mode.
disabled
In this mode displayed links cannot be used as links.
Show Images
This option specifies how the WebUser Interface should process references to external images and other objects:
directly
In this mode image references are used "as is". If the WebUser protection methods (Fixed IP Address, Cookies) are disabled, attackers can receive your WebUser Session ID string when you view an image object on the attackers' Web site.
safely
In this mode object references are modified. The Web sites hosting external images do not receive the "referrer" information containing your WebUser Session ID. This option does not work with some browsers.
proxy
In this mode object references are modified to start a "proxy" application on the Server that retrieves the referred object and sends it to the client. The Web sites hosting external images do not receive the "referrer" information containing your WebUser Session ID. Your Account must have the HTTP Service enabled.
disabled
In this mode image references are removed, and no external image is displayed.
This option has no effect on "internal" images, i.e. the images sent within the same message.
Use Message Charset
If you have disabled the Unicode (UTF-8) display because your browser does not support it well, you can meet problems viewing messages are composed using the charsets incompatible with your preferred charset.
If you set this setting to Yes, the message viewer page will be displayed in the charset that allows you to read the message content, but the page design (navigation links, etc.) can become unreadable if it uses national characters.
If you set this setting to No, the message page will be always displayed correctly, but the message content can be unreadable if the message is composed using an incompatible charset.
If you have allowed your browser to use the UTF-8 charset for Reading, this setting has no effect.
Send Read Receipts
This option specifies what happens when you open a message for which the message author has requested a "read notification".
disabled
Requests for Read Notifications are ignored.
manually
When you open a message that contains a Read Notification request, a "Send Confirmation" button appears, allows you to send a confirmation (a Read Receipt).
automatically
When you open a message with a Read Notification request for the first time, a confirmation (Read Receipt) message is automatically sent to the message author.
Fields
The fields listed in this set are displayed in the message headers.

Storing Addresses

The WebUser Interface allows you to store the sender's name and E-mail address in your Address Book. Click the Take Address button to add a the message From: address to your Address Book.

If a message contains a digital signature and your CommuniGate Pro Account has the Secure Mail feature enabled, you can add the sender's certificate (also known as digital ID) to your Address Book.

See the Secure Mail section of the manual for more details.


Message Copying

You can copy or move the opened message to any other mailbox in your Account (or to a mailbox in any other Account if you have the proper access rights).

Select the mailbox you want to copy to, and click the Copy to button.

If you click the Move To button, the message will be copied, and the original will be either removed, or marked as deleted (if the WebUser Interface Delete Mode is set to Marked).


Message Redirecting

You can redirect the opened message to one or several E-mail addresses.

Type the addresses you want to redirect the message to, separating them with the comma (,) sign, and click the Redirect button.


Storing and Removing Attachments

The WebUser Interface allows you to store message attachments on your own computer by just clickling the attachment name in your browser. If the File Storage feature is enabled for your CommuniGate Pro Account, you can store attachments and embedded images directly to your File Storage folders.

When a message has file parts, the Store In button appears:

Select a File Storage folder, and click the Store File button. All message attachments and images will be copied into the selected folder.

Click the Remove File button to remove message attachments. The original message is deleted or moved to your Trash folder (depending on your settings), and a message copy with removed attachments is stored in your mailbox.